top of page

Photo credit: Joan Loesch

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


Please send a comment to the Department of Natural Resources by March 6 urging them to deny PolyMet a Permit to Mine. You may also submit comments to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency regarding PolyMet's air quality permit, water quality permit, and wetlands certification by March 16. LWV Minnesota opposes the draft permit to mine which fails to protect Minnesota’s waters. For more information please visit WaterLegacy's website.

There are three upcoming events regarding redistricting hosted by local LWV organizations.

LWV West Metro Alliance will be hosting a forum on redistricting Saturday, March 17th at St. Louis Park City Hall including Justice Paul Anderson (retired) and Nick Harper, LWV Minnesota Civic Engagement Manager. Coffee will be available at 9:30 a.m. and the program begins at 10 a.m. More info here and here.

LWV White Bear Lake Area will be hosting a forum on redistricting Monday, March 19th at White Bear Lake High School. The event begins at 7 p.m. and will feature Nick Harper, Susan Brower, Minnesota State Demographer, Tom Horner, board member for Common Cause Minnesota, Steve Kelley, senior fellow at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs, and David Schultz, professor of political science at Hamline University and law at the University of Minnesota. More info here and here.

LWV Roseville Area will be hosting a forum on redistricting Tuesday, March 20th at Autumn Grove Park in Roseville. The event begins at 6:30 p.m. and their speaker will be Annastacia Belladonna-Carrera, Executive Director of Common Cause Minnesota. More info here and here.

Met Council Chair Alene Tchourumoff, Governor Mark Dayton, and others recently gathered to celebrate the Met Council's 50th anniversary. See the video of Tchourumoff's remarks and feel free to visit the Met Council's website to watch video of a panel discussion including former Met Council Chairs Ted Mondale, Sue Haigh, and Curt Johnson.

News and Events

bottom of page