top of page

Who We Are



Since 1920 the League of Women Voters (LWV) has worked to increase civic participation, foster education on issues of concern to voters, and shape public policy through education and advocacy. The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is one of 700+ local and state leagues throughout the United States. We are nonpartisan and do not endorse or oppose candidates at any level of government.


LWV of Dakota County was formed in December 2016, building on the history of our predecessors, LWV Northern Dakota County and LWV Burnsville. We serve most of Dakota County including residents of Eagan, Lakeville, Burnsville, Apple Valley, Inver Grove Heights, Rosemount, Farmington, Hastings, South St. Paul, West St. Paul, Mendota Heights, Lilydale, Sunfish Lake, Vermillion, Mendota, and Coates, as well as residents of Savage.


Our meetings are generally held the evening of the first Tuesday of each month. Meetings typically include speaker(s), discussion, and/or reports from our members. While we are currently meeting virtually due to COVID-19, our meetings normally are held at Dakota County libraries, usually either Burnhaven (Burnsville), Robert Trail (Rosemount), or Wescott (Eagan). Visitors and those interested in becoming members are always welcome to attend!


Leadership Team

As a grassroots organization, LWV of Dakota County is directed by and responsive to its membership. Many of our members volunteer their time and talent with the hope of creating a more perfect democracy. Those with formal roles on LWV of Dakota County's Leadership Team are listed below. To contact us, please click the Contact Us button below.

Leadership Team

Lynn Lewis — Voter Service Co-Chair
Tina Syrstad — Voter Service Co-Chair
Thana Ross — Treasurer / Roster Manager
Phillip Lundquist — Secretary / Membership Coordinator
Rob Shumer — Youth Engagement Coordinator

OPEN — Visibility Coordinator

Interested in joining the Leadership Team? Find more information here and reach out to get involved!

bottom of page