Fort Snelling State Park

Photo credit: Joe Passe (2020)

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


Video of our candidate forum for Dakota County Attorney, held on September 19, is now available courtesy of Eagan Television. The candidates are Kathy Keena and Matt Little. The general election concludes on November 8 and absentee voting has already begun. Information about how to vote is available on our Voter Resources page. Video of our candidate forum for Dakota County Attorney held on June 22 that included all four candidates who competed in the primary election is available here.

2022 Dakota County Attorney Candidate Forum
2022 Dakota County Attorney Candidate Forum

At our October 4, 2022 meeting, distinguished guests Joan Anderson Growe and Lori Sturdevant will join us to discuss the history that made Minnesota one of the leading states in voter turnout and participation. That history is detailed in a 2020 book coauthored by Growe and Sturdevant titled Turnout: Making Minnesota the State That Votes.

Joan Anderson Growe served as Minnesota Secretary of State from 1975 to 1999. Known for her work to encourage voter participation, her tenure was one of the longest of any secretary of state in Minnesota's history. Before running for secretary of state, Growe was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives from 1973 to 1974. As a state legislator, Growe supported the Minnesota same-day voter registration law (the first in the country) and later, as Secretary of State, she worked to implement it. Since then, Minnesota has consistently had the highest voter turnout in the United States. Fun fact: those iconic “I Voted” stickers were originally introduced in Minnesota in the early 1990’s by Growe in order to build excitement around voting and instill a sense of pride and community.

Lori Sturdevant is a journalist and author who retired in December 2018 after 43 years with the Minneapolis Star Tribune, writing on Minnesota government and politics. She is now an occasional contributor to the Star Tribune Opinion Exchange section. She is the author, co-author, or editor of a dozen books.

The meeting will be held in the lecture room at Scott Highlands Middle School, located at 14011 Pilot Knob Road in Apple Valley. The entrance and parking lot for Scott Highlands Middle School are on the south side of the building facing 142nd Street (not Pilot Knob as the address would suggest). If you are entering Highland ELEMENTARY School you are in the wrong parking lot.

Our meetings are free, nonpartisan, and open to the public. We look forward to your participation!

Video of our candidate forum for ISD 194 (Lakeville Area) School Board is now available here courtesy of ISD 194. The candidates who chose to participate are Carly Anderson, Kathy Lewis, and Andy Lundblad. Other candidates who will be on the ballot include Kim Baker, Marilee Jager, Bree Schindele, and Brian Thompson. Four of the seven candidates will be elected to the school board. Information about how to vote is available on our Voter Resources page.

News and Events