top of page

Photo credit: Joan Loesch

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


The League of Women Voters of Dakota County mourns the passing of Sieglinde (Linde) Gassman, one of the founding members of our League who was a bright light to all who knew her. Linde volunteered in early 2017 to be part of the founding Leadership Team and served as Membership co-lead. You could always count on her to greet attendees at the regular meetings and special events with a friendly smile and efficient manner. Linde cared deeply about the mission, vision and values of the League of Women Voters and spent many hours working with the Leadership Team to ensure member needs were considered in all decisions.

Linde lived an amazing life and was full of wisdom gained from her varied experiences. After raising a family, she volunteered to work overseas in a variety of roles, taking her to places such as Albania, Cambodia, and Viet Nam. She lived with local people, as they lived, so she could learn and embrace their culture. After returning to the United States, Linde was involved in many organizations that are focused on helping to make the world a better and more just place, while maintaining ties with the many people worldwide whose lives she touched.

Linde (pictured left) at the 2018 March for Our Lives event in St. Paul, with Tina Syrstad (pictured right).

Links to video or audio of 40+ different 2022 candidate forums, many of which included multiple races, are available on our Voter Resources page and within our Candidate Forums Archive. Those include eight candidate forums that we hosted, two hosted by LWV of Woodbury, Cottage Grove Area, four hosted by LWV of Northfield and Cannon Falls, one hosted by LWV of St. Paul, and multiple candidate forums hosted by Town Square Television, the Lakeville Area Chamber of Commerce, the Prior Lake Chamber of Commerce, and various media outlets. If we missed any nonpartisan forums that included candidates seeking office within Dakota County please contact us using this form.

News and Events

bottom of page