Photo credit: Tony Webster (2018)

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


Updated: Jun 10

Dakota County LWV is officially holding a candidate forum for the August 9th primary election for Dakota County Attorney! Four candidates are running in the primary, and the two candidates with the most votes will compete in the General Election on November 8.

What would you like to ask the candidates? Please submit your questions to lwvdakotacty@lwvmn.org by June 15.

For information about these candidates, consider reading this article from the Pioneer Press that summarizes their experience and perspectives.

In 2022 elections will be held for all seats in the United States House of Representatives, all state legislative and constitutional offices, and many state judicial offices. Elections will be held for Dakota County Attorney and Sheriff, all Dakota County Board of Commissioners districts except for Districts 5 (Burnsville) and 7 (Apple Valley, and Rosemount Precincts 3 and 5), and all Dakota County soil and water conservation districts. Elections will also be held for offices of multiple cities and school districts. The primary election will be held on Tuesday, August 9 and the general election will be held on Tuesday, November 8.

The filing period for federal and state offices and most other offices is May 17 through 5 p.m. on May 31. You may view a list of the candidates who have already filed for office here. The filing period for candidates for city or school district office in cities and school districts that do not hold primary elections will be August 2 through 5 p.m. on August 16. Candidates for township office in townships that hold November elections will also file for office from August 2 through 5 p.m. on August 16. More information about filing periods from the Secretary of State's Office is available here and general information about running for office is available here. The 2022 State of Minnesota Campaign Manual, also published by the Secretary of State's Office, is available here.

A follow up to our November meeting regarding water protections and stewardship!

Special Guest Sharon Day, Founder of Indigenous Peoples Taskforce, will share the Native American spiritual perspective of water stewardship and the imperative to protect the water supply. She is an Ojibwe leader and Native American activist, artist and writer from Minnesota. She is an enrolled member of the Bois Forte Band of Ojibwe. Day is most known for her water walks, a spiritual practice in which Day and others carry water for long distances to raise awareness and pray for the health and future of the waterways.

Non-members may register here for free. Zoom links will be sent out the day of the meeting, so keep an eye on your inbox.

We hope to see you there!

News and Events