Photo credit: Tony Webster (2018)

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


LWV of Dakota County will host candidate forums for the races listed below. Which questions do you want the candidates to answer? Please submit questions using this form no later than the dates listed below.

  • Dakota County Commissioner, Districts 2 and 3; Question deadline - August 24

  • Dakota County Commissioner, Districts 4 and 6; Question deadline - August 31

  • ISD 194 (Lakeville Area) School Board; Question deadline - September 7

  • Dakota County Attorney; Question deadline - September 12

  • ISD 191 (Burnsville-Eagan-Savage) School Board; Question deadline - September 14

  • ISD 192 (Farmington Area) School Board; Question deadline - September 21

Maps of the recently redrawn Dakota County Commissioner districts are available here, here, and here (bottom map). Primary election results for Dakota County Attorney and Dakota County Commissioner Districts 2, 4, and 6 candidates are available here and the top two candidates in each race will proceed to the general election on November 8. The Dakota County Commissioner District 3 candidates are listed here. The ISDs 194, 191, and 192 school board candidates that have filed for office thus far are listed here and the names of all candidates will be available after the filing period for those races ends on August 16.

Each candidate forum will be recorded and video will be made available soon after each forum has concluded.

The period during which individuals may file to run for school board closes at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, August 16. The following school districts will elect school board members during the general election on November 8:

The Minnesota School Boards Association has a guide to running for school board available here and a webinar for candidates interested in running for school board available here. You may view the candidates who have filed thus far here.

Last Wednesday was LWV Dakota County's candidate forum for the position of County Attorney, where candidates Kathy Keena, Elizabeth Lamin, Matt Little, and Jeff Sheridan shared their answers to questions you submitted. The forum is now available on YouTube for you to watch at your convenience.

Minnesota's Primary Election is on August 9th, with voting by mail available until August 8th. The MN General Election is on November 8th, with voting by mail available from September 23rd through November 7th.

News and Events