top of page

Dakota County Expected to Authorize Continued Refugee Resettlement

Updated: Jan 11, 2020

In September 2019 President Trump signed Executive Order 13888, which requires state and county governments to consent to the continued resettlement of refugees within their respective boundaries before refugees can continued to be resettled within those states and counties by the U.S. Department of State. In December 2019, Governor Walz formally consented to the continued resettlement of refugees within Minnesota.

On January 7, 2020, the Dakota County Board of Commissioners is expected to authorize the County Manager to send a letter to the State Department consenting to the continued resettlement of refugees in Dakota County. The matter is item 8.5 on the consent agenda for the meeting (p. 67 of the PDF). The resolution to be voted on notes that "an average of 24 refugees have come to Dakota County each year over the past decade, with a range of 9-60." A December 8, 2019, Star Tribune article discussing the broader issue for Minnesota counties noted that Kandiyohi County recently authorized continued refugee resettlement and Ramsey County is expected to do so in the near future.

Update: The resolution was approved. Additional media coverage is available here (Brainerd Dispatch) and here (Star Tribune).


bottom of page