top of page

Committee Formed to Study Met Council Structure and Services

On August 28 Governor Walz issued Executive Order 20-88, which creates a 15-member committee to "to evaluate the structure of the Metropolitan Council and the delivery of its statutory responsibilities." Specifically, the committee will review "[t]he role of elected versus appointed Metropolitan Council members," the Council's "role as a Metropolitan Planning Organization" and "the ways this federal designation may complement and conflict with the Council’s responsibilities under Minnesota law," and "[t]he effectiveness of the delivery of regional transit service." The committee is tasked with completing a report compiling its findings and recommendations by the end of 2020.

Committee members will include Dakota County Commissioner Mary Liz Holberg, who sits on the Met Council's Transportation Advisory Board and has previously criticized the Met Council's governance structure. Members will also include Burnsville Mayor Elizabeth Kautz and Savage Mayor Janet Williams.

Recent Posts

See All

Twelve residents of Independent School District 196 filed candidacy for the School Board during the two-week filing period that ended Aug. 15 and will vie for four open seats in the Nov. 7, 2023 Schoo

bottom of page