ISD 196 (Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan) School Board Candidate Forum

Updated: Oct 26

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County hosted a virtual candidate forum for ISD 196 (Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan) School Board on September 29. The forum was recorded courtesy of the City of Apple Valley and the video is available below. There are many other options to watch the forum including on Comcast Xfinity channels in Eagan and Inver Grove Heights, Spectrum TV channels in Apple Valley, Rosemount, and Lakeville, on a variety of YouTube channels and Facebook pages, as well as via Roku’s community channel.

The candidates seeking election to the ISD 196 School Board are Kyle Anderson, Craig Angrimson, Loren Jay Balazs, Kim Bauer, Art Coulson, Kayla Hauser, Curtis Henry, Derek Kottke, Teresa Maki, Sakawdin Mohamed, Jacob Mark Rylander, John Schaefer, and Bianca Virnig. The names of Kaia Zeigler, Rebecca Gierok, and Jessica Turner will also appear on the ballot, but each of those candidates have publicly announced their withdrawal from the race. Due to the number of candidates the forum was split into two parts with half of the candidates participating in group 1 and half participating in group 2.

Absentee voting began September 17 and voting will continue through the November 2 general election for three at-large seats. More information about the election and how to vote is available on our Voter Resources page.

Recent Posts

See All

ISD 194 (Lakeville) School Board to Fill Vacancy

Update: The Senate District 58 GOP has announced that it is "actively working toward" collecting signatures for a petition to reject the appointment of Robin Richards. At its meeting on November 23, t

2021 Election Results

Yesterday, November 2nd, was the 2021 Municipal & School District General Election in Dakota County. Below are the names of the winning school board candidates for each of the districts, along with a