Fort Snelling State Park

Photo credit: Joe Passe (2020)

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


Dakota County Parks is developing a Natural Resource Management Plan for Lebanon Hills Regional Park and is seeking input from the public. A report released in March articulates the timeline for completing the plan and provides a wealth of information regarding ecological challenges facing the park. Please contact Dakota County Parks Senior Ecologist Joe Walton with comments or questions at or 952-891-7507. For more information, see the management plan's web page.

LWV Dakota County in conjunction with several West St. Paul residents hosted an event April 4 at Wentworth Library encouraging individuals to seek public office or otherwise become more civically engaged. Speakers included Mayor Jenny Halverson and City Councilmembers Dave Napier and Dick Vitelli. See our presentation addressing the basics of why and how to volunteer or run for public office in West St. Paul.

Here are links to information referenced in the presentation:

A gubernatorial candidates forum will be held Wednesday, March 28 at Normandale Community College, 9700 France Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55431. There will be an opportunity to meet participating candidates from 5 - 5:30 p.m. and the forum will go from 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium. The forum will be hosted by the Normandale Student Senate and moderated by Debby McNeil of LWV Edina. Candidates will respond to written questions from audience members. The forum will be recorded. Candidates who have confirmed they will participate (as of 3/25) include Phillip Parrish (GOP), Jenny Rhoades (Independence Party), Lance Johnson (GOP), Ole Savior (GOP), Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey (GOP), and Leslie Davis (Independent).

News and Events