top of page

Photo credit: Joan Loesch

The League of Women Voters of Dakota County is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences policy through education and advocacy. We meet monthly and also host candidate forums, issue forums, and other events of interest to the community. Please attend one of our meetings or contact us for more information!


Is climate change real? If so, what should we do about it? What will be the risks of different approaches? What are the downsides of each? How should we decide? These are some of the topics that will be discussed in a free community dialogue to be held:

Saturday, February 23, 2019, from 10:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. Shakopee Public Library (large meeting room)

235 Lewis St S

Shakopee, MN 55379

The format for the session is a moderated discussion, using a method developed and promoted by the National Issues Forum Institute, a non-profit organization located in Dayton, Ohio. After a short orientation to the issue and the process, groups of no more than 25 will sit in a circle and discuss the issues. The discussion will approach the issues from three different perspectives, 30 minutes for each perspective. The objective of the group is to find common ground among the perspectives.

To enable an informed discussion, prior to attending, you can download a fact-based issue paper about climate change developed by the National Issues Forum Institute which describes three different perspectives here.

Participants will have the opportunity to participate in a civil moderated discussion, share their own views and also hear the views of others. You will also have the opportunity to learn a process for discussing difficult issues which may be used in many contexts, including local issues.

For participants who may have attended a Better Angels skills workshop or forum, this will provide a great opportunity to practice the listening and speaking skills learned, and help promote more civil conversations about the issues important to you.

The moderator is Rick Olson (Prior Lake) and perhaps one or two others. Please register in advance here. For more information, contact Rick at or 320-248-9933.

Observer Corps reports are submitted by LWV Dakota County members that volunteer their time to observe and take notes at government meetings of interest to Dakota County residents. While we strive for accuracy, these observations may be incomplete or inaccurate in some respects.

Workshop Agenda Meeting Summary: Commissioner Workman led the welcome and the various staff and elected officials who represent Dakota County introduced themselves. No mayors were in attendance. Introductions were also made for the County's new lobbyists from Stinson Leonard Street LLP.

An overview was presented related to past legislative accomplishments. Handouts related to population, regional differences, and how Dakota County is changing were presented to the audience. Communities of color have grown since 1990. MN demographic projections show that within a few years seniors will outnumber children. Poverty in Dakota County has steadily increased since 2006. Jobs are needed to support families. Housing costs are a financial burden for many households.

Item III. 2019 Legislative Priorities were addressed. The County's legislative platform includes the following priorities:

A. Housing and economic stability with the desire that the Legislature should provide a dependable stream of funding, enhance rental assistance, and create dedicated, permanent funding sources for workforce housing.

B. Transportation with the desire for the current distribution of Motor Vehicle Lease Sales Tax (MVLST) be retained, an increase in sustainable funding for bridges, additional bonding for highway programs, and sufficient funding for metropolitan transit.

C. Natural resource stewardship with protection of conservation efforts, support of regional parks, and approval of state bonding for greenway projects. Support full funding of MN Historical Society grant programs.

D. Environmental protection with increased Select Committee on Recycling and the Environment (SCORE) funding. Approve bonding for hazardous waste collection and establish and fund a state program to reimburse public and private drinking water well owners for treatment of contaminants.

More than 200 applicants recently applied to serve on the Met Council representing one of its 16 districts. The nominating committee identified 4-5 finalists from each district. The finalists from District 13 will provide public testimony at the Met Council offices in St. Paul on Monday, February 11, 2019. The finalists from Districts 4, 15, and 16 will provide public testimony at Savage City Hall on Tuesday, February 12, 2019. Each meeting begins at 6 p.m. and will include the finalists from four districts. The meetings will be streamed live on the Met Council’s Twitter page, @MetCouncilNews. Comments from the public will not be accepted at the meetings, but individuals may submit input regarding the candidates via email to After their interviews, the finalists will be narrowed to three from each district, then the nominating committee will submit their recommendations to Governor Walz by February 18, 2019. Governor Walz intends to appoint council members by March 4, 2019. The Met Council is also looking for new members to serve on its advisory committees. You may read about the committee openings and the application process here.

District 13 includes West St. Paul, South St. Paul, Mendota Heights, Lilydale, Mendota, and Sunfish Lake. You may read the application submitted by each candidate here.

District 15 includes Eagan, Burnsville, Inver Grove Heights, and Rosemount. You may read the application submitted by each candidate here.

District 16 includes Apple Valley, Lakeville, Farmington, Hastings, Elko New Market, Hampton, Vermillion, New Trier, Miesville, Randolph, and multiple surrounding townships. You may read the application submitted by each candidate here.

District 4 includes Savage, Prior Lake, Shakopee, Jordan, Belle Plaine, Chaska, Victoria, Carver, Waconia, Watertown, Mayer, New Germany, Cologne, Norwood Young America, Hamburg, and multiple surrounding townships. You may read the application submitted by each candidate here.

News and Events

bottom of page